“Heard the cry of ‘live independence’, which repeated with enthusiasm by the people who were gathered in the streets, square, patio, sliding and anteroom of this palace”. This is how the preamble of the Central American Act of Independence that, on September 15 1821, implemented the separation of the Guatemala’s Providence from the Spanish Monarchy. 197 years later, the five countries that achieved their independence – Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica – celebrated the Independence of Central America on that day.

Thus, the Ambassadors in Brussels of the five Central American countries celebrated in the Belgian capital a majestic reception to commemorate this important moment. The Ambassador of Equatorial Guinea in Brussels, Carmelo Nvono-Ncá, was of course present, showing the excellent relations that unite our country with the Central American region.

Belgium | Latin America

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.